A Dark and Stormy Night

Midwinter in CT.  That’s where I am at this moment.  Physically that is where I am and mentally that is where I am.  What does that mean exactly?  Well…we just finished an arctic blast followed by above normal temperatures bringing with it freezing rain and flooding.  The weather in CT this winter is like someone with bipolar disorder. Mentally I am feeling a little bipolar myself.  This is the time of year when I hibernate.  I hate cold weather more than anything in this world.  I don’t ski.  I don’t ice skate.  The idea of winter to me is something to endure..  and yet… I love to sit inside next to a fire reading a great book.  Who doesn’t love baking something amazing on a frigid day and eating it or serving it with  a hot cup of tea. Life slows down in the winter…in CT.  I am a gardener, and while I am sure Martha Stewart can find plenty of gardening to do in the winter, I enjoy the fact that this time of year I do not have to weed, prune nor kill driveway vegetation.  Winter pace provides more time to visit with friends and family.  Winter provides more time for hobbies such as starting a blog!

So you see….I am bipolar! I guess I have a love, hate relationship with winter.

Leave a Reply

